

## Summarized Minutes of INDO-US Academic Council for Emergency and Trauma (ACET-2007)

The meeting was held on 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> Sept, 2007 in the Board Room A.I.I.M.S. and was attended by 29 councilors.

- Dr. AA Rather, Sher-I-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences, Srinagar
- Dr. Amit Gupta, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi
- Dr. Ashok C. Upadhyaya, Nizam Institute of Medical Sciences, Hyderabad
- Dr. C.S. Prakash, Rajah Muthiah Medical College, Annamalainagar
- Dr. Caraciolo Nazareth Fernandes, Goa Medical College, Goa
- Dr. Devesh M. Patel, Medical College, Vadodara
- Dr. J.P. Jain. Railway Hospital. Mumbai
- Dr. L.R. Murmu, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi
- Dr. M. Ambaresha, Kasturba Medical College, Mangalore
- Dr. Ramanathan (Dean), Rajah Muthiah Medical College, Annamalainagar
- Dr. M.M. Anchalia, B.J. Medical College, Ahmedabad
- Dr. Praveen Aggarwal, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi
- Dr. R.P. Chaudhry, Railway Hospital, Ajmer
- Dr. R.P.S. Boparai, Government Medical College, Amritsar
- Dr. Rakesh Kumar, Maulana Azad Medical College, Delhi
- Dr. Raveendra U.S., Hegde Academy of Medical Sciences, Mangalore
- Dr. Varghese, Jubilee Mission Medical College, Kerala
- Dr. S. Sundara Kumar, PSG Institute of Medical Sciences, Coimbatore
- Dr. S.D. Sharma, Lok Navak Hospital, Delhi
- Dr. Sandeep Sahu, G.S.V.M. Medical College, Kanpur
- Dr. Sanjeev Bhoi, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Delhi
- Dr. Shivakumar C.R., Mahadevappa Rampure Medical College, Gulbarga
- Dr. Sudesh Rao, A.J. Institute of Medical Sciences, Mangalore
- Dr. S Amer Zahoor, Sher-I-Kashmir Institute of Medical Sciences, Srinagar
- Dr. Syed Moied Ahmed, Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Aligarh
- Dr. T.R. Ravi, Jubilee Mission Medical College, Kerala
- Dr. T.V. Ramakrishnan, Sri Ramachandra Medical College, Chennai
- Dr. Tanu Raj Sirohi, Subharti Medical College, Meerut
- Dr. Tarlika P. Doctor, B.J. Medical College, Ahmedabad

Fourteen of the councilors attended the meeting for the second time. The meeting began with the welcome address to all the Councilors and the invited speakers both from USA and India.

In the forenoon of 1<sup>st</sup> September the Emergency Medicine models for research and training in Emergency and Trauma were discussed. After that Hon'ble member of Medical Council of India, Prof. Sneh Bhargava, Ex-Director, AllMS, had formal and informal discussions with Councilors about the rules, regulations and guidelines of Medical Council of India for creating a new specialty. She also elaborated in detail the format for submitting the proposal for creating the specialty of Emergency Medicine.

**In the afternoon** the Councilors participated in the National CME on emergency and trauma, which was part of the ACET meeting.

**On the 2<sup>nd</sup> September**, invited lectures in the field of Emergency Medicine and Trauma were delivered by faculty from USA. The areas of discussion covered were injury research, residency training, role of trained nurses, and model of trauma care.

The deliberations were followed by **ICMR address** to the councilors about the priority areas of research in the field of biomedical sciences and modalities for submission of proposal for seeking grant and fellowships.

**Afternoon session** began with the last year's summary by Dr Praveen Aggarwal, National Chair, ACET. Some of the last years Councilors presented activities and new developments in their respective emergency medicine departments.

ACET 2006 was held on 20<sup>th</sup> September, 2006 at 3:00 P.M. and was attended by 24 academic councilors in which the following decisions were taken.

- Pre and inter hospital transfer should be part of Emergency Medicine
- Draft the curriculum for undergraduate and postgraduate courses in emergency medicine
- To create speaker bureau for promoting academic activities in Indo-US Emergency meetings.
- To make efforts to create a separate department of emergency medicine.

## At AECT-2007 meeting, following decisions were taken:

- The sitting academic Councilors can return even if the Dean does not recommend his/her name for the next ACET meeting. However if the Dean does not recommend his/her name for two consecutive years, his/her name will be dropped. Similarly, if the councilor does not perform satisfactorily, he/she would not be recommended for next ACET meeting.
- 2. To create an administrative website and email blog for close interaction.
- 3. Creation of Research School which should include:

- Workshop to be conducted at various institutes on research methodology
- Effort to be made by present councilor to recruit more councilors for the future ACET meetings.
- Formation of research organization at local level
- National Network for Research to conduct multicentric clinical trials
- 4. A collective decision was taken to create MD (3 years) in Emergency Medicine and not diplomas or other certificate course.
- 5. Councilors were encouraged to create a <u>Hospital Disaster Plans</u> and conduct mock disaster drill every 6 monthly in their hospitals. Training through workshops should be offered to the Councilors.
- 6. <u>Standardized faculty development programme</u> to be started at Medical Colleges which are a part of ACET and committed to bring Emergency Medicine to their institutions.
- 7. <u>Draft undergraduate and postgraduate curriculum</u> and interact with other councilors through e-mails/website
- 8. To create ultrasonography facilities and capabilities in academic emergency departments in India. For this, efforts will be made to <u>train the councilors in performing emergency ultrasound</u>.

The meeting came to an end with the vote of thanks from Dr. L.R. Murmu, Co-Chair, ACET.

Praveen Aggarwal National Chair, ACET

Praveent yours.